Shopping Cart 0 items - $0.00 0

Kansas Foundation for
Agriculture in the Classroom

Teacher of the Year Application

2021 KFAC Janet Sims Memorial Teacher of the Year Award &
2021 KFB Foundation AgriculturAL Excellence in Teaching Award

In 2008 the Teacher of the Year award was renamed in honor of Janet Sims, a former board member and educator, who passed away from muscular dystrophy in 2007. KFAC recognizes one Kansas teacher each summer who demonstrates a commitment to connecting their classroom to Kansas agriculture. Any certified K-12 teacher who teaches in a Kansas classroom and integrates agricultural concepts into non-agricultural curricula is eligible for this award. The winner of the KFAC Janet Sims Teacher of the Year Award will receive an all-expense paid trip to the 2021 National Agriculture in the Classroom Conference June 29-July 1, 2021 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Since 2013, the Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation Excellence in Teaching Awards have recognized up to five teachers annually. These award winners may choose to receive their registration paid at the National Agriculture in the Classroom Conference or a classroom supply stipend.

The application on this page is reviewed by selection committees for both teaching awards.


Eligibility: District-certified K-12 Kansas teachers currently engaged in integrating agricultural concepts into a non-agricultural classroom setting.

Evaluation Criteria:
• 25% Creativity and Utilization of Agricultural Information
• 25% Interdisciplinary Approach
• 25% Advancement of Educational Standards
• 25% Student Impact

Submission Deadline: June 30, 2020.

self-nominations are encouraged! You deserve the recognition! Fill out the form below.