Kansas Foundation for
Agriculture in the Classroom

Teacher of the Year


KFAC recognizes one Kansas teacher each summer who demonstrates a commitment to connecting their classroom to Kansas agriculture. Any K-12 teacher who is teaching in a certified school in Kansas in a non-vocational agriculture classroom setting and who is integrating agricultural concepts into non-agricultural curricula is eligible for this award.

The Teacher of the Year Award has been a part of KFAC for many years. In 2008, it was renamed in honor of Janet Sims who passed away from muscular dystrophy in June 2007. Janet served on the KFAC board of directors since November 2005, and during that time she served on the education committee and also contributed tremendous support, leadership and– most importantly – a passion for youth education to the Foundation.

KFAC is proud to honor Janet and her family by sponsoring the Janet Sims Memorial Teacher of the Year Award.